TEUTOPOLIS FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT
For Emergencies Dial 911!
Non-Emergencies call 217-203-0746
The Teutopolis Fire Protection District was established on April 8, 1883, as the Teutopolis Fire Company. The first piece of equipment, a hand pumper, was purchased. On February 13, 1892, the Village bought its first hook and ladder truck. In 1924 the Village Board asked for the organization of a volunteer fire department and in March of that year, by-laws were drawn upsetting a limit of 25 active members. In 1948 the Teutopolis Fire Protection District was organized. The first trustees were John Esker, Ben Huelsing, and Allie Thoele. The fire department is currently located at 215 West Main Street in Teutopolis and is a member of MABAS Division 54. Tim McMahon is the Fire Chief. The department is comprised of 27 volunteer firefighter’s and 3 trustees and serves a 55 square mile area. The Volunteer members take over 1,000 hours of training a year and use the location to provide training to many area departments.
In 1954 it was decided to clean up the 1883 hand pumper and paint it. This hand pumper is on display in the current fire station. In 1978 the department purchased a Lime Green truck since a study indicated that was the color most visible at night to other drivers. Since then the department has continued to purchase trucks with this unique color!